in the garden of good intentions

i know it’s been a while since i posted last… i know it’s bloom day… i know it’s blog action day…  i just have way too much in the wagon these days to deal with it all… but am i surprised?  nope.  but i’m still here, plugging, transplanting and trying my best to prune a lot of it away…

in the meantime, i am surprised to see this gal FINALLY blooming.  you can grow dahlias in texas, but it’s a challenge.

 

Dahlia 'Surprise' with bonus chrysalis treasure

 

since i can’t make up my mind which i like best, i’ll leave you with two quotes on intentions to ponder; both refer to gardens and are from individuals whose learning/working/living philosophies i’ve admired:

a garden is a complex of aesthetic and plastic intentions; and the plant is, to a landscape artist, not only a plant – rare, unusual, ordinary or doomed to disappearance – but it is also a color, a shape, a volume or an arabasque in itself

– roberto burle marx

a garden requires patient labor and attention.  plants do not grow merely to satisfy ambitions or fulfill good intentions.  they thrive because someone expended effort on them.

– liberty hyde bailey

12 thoughts on “in the garden of good intentions

    • indeed… i still have images of his work in my brain from when i was first introduced to his style of landscape. so brave and colorful. thanks for stopping by les.

  1. I like both quotes and hope your busy-ness stems from lots of good things and exciting projects in your life. When those locust leaves came down in our garden, there were periods where it looked like it was snowing the air was so full of tiny leaves.

  2. Good for you getting that beautiful Dahlia to bloom! They’re worth the effort, aren’t they? I had some gorgeous Dahlia blooms just before the frost. Some of them took their time opening but I reveled in their beauty for the few short days they gave us.
    Lovely little bonus too 🙂
    I like both quotes 🙂
    Life seems too busy in our little corner too to blog much lately. Perhaps when I’m forced into hibernation I’ll do better. Hope life calms down a bit for you too.
    I’ll see what I can do to get that sheep-herding daughter of ours to post, but she’s a busy girl! She’s been off galavanting at Rheinbeck S&W Festival this past weekend. No sheep came home with her – this time! 😉

  3. Gorgeous dahlias! Well done. Lovely quotes too. As Mum said, no sheep came home with me this time, but I almost couldn’t resist the adorable angora goats. You were missed. xx

  4. i know. I know! Look at the love and support you gave that dahlia! How dare it not bloom! I’d never heard either of those quotations and really appreciate them. Need to read the book of LHB writings I bought, oh, a year ago. Maybe a winter project.

  5. yes, yes, that dahlia got a LOT of extra love, support, shade cloth and water all summer. holy cow. i’m definitely contemplating whether i should lift that rhizome over the winter or not, let alone if i should for the other three varieties that barely survived. this one’s been such a pretty, salad-plate sized bloom, perhaps i should just containerize it… hmm.

    lynn, which LHB book do you have? hortus third? that’ll get you through a long winter for sure! did you know there’s a garden of his in ithaca that’s still somewhat maintained? i think it’s just off buffalo st, to the right as you’re heading up the hill.

  6. Andrea,
    I’m squarely in the Liberty Hyde Bailey perspective myself. I think gardens are about the creative process of gardening and making you (and whomever gardens with you) and the plants that you tend part of the garden that surrounds you. Then they’re beautiful no matter what!

    Lisa

  7. Boy, that ‘Surprise’ dahlia is really a surprise in Texas! Lovely though. I’ll bet Buffalo inspired you. It inspired me to try my hand at a peony and lilies. We’ll see. Both of them are supposed to be Southern friendly. Like I said, we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

